Montessori Curriculum


The Montessori curriculum can be categorised into five main areas. For each area, there are specific Montessori materials which have been created to meet the child’s needs and foster their independence.

The Montessori curriculum is underpinned by an constructivist approach to learning whereby children build their knowledge about the world through active exploration and discovery. Montessori educators view children as curious scientists who are motivated to explore the environment on their own.

Children are offered 2.5 to 3 hour blocks of time to concentrate on the activities they have chosen without interruption.

The curriculum areas include:

The Exercises of Practical Life
Te Whāriki
  • w-facebook
  • Twitter Clean